Gilty pleasures


I like a good typo, a malaprop, a misunderstood word or phrase. You can imagine, then, that I cry with laughter over others’ errors. My favorite today was that person who wrote about ‘digging wells and skeptic tanks’. I need a skeptic tank. Maybe two, if one tank gets too full.

And I haven’t forgotten that former beau of mine who constantly talked about it being a ‘doggy dog world’. It took me a while to figure out what he was talking about. And then there’s the person who recently talked about some of the new student highrises, and why she hates them. She singled out Tarragon and Tarragon West for particular comments. She must have had herbs on her mind.

For those who need a good laugh or a gentle smile on a grey day like today, here’s the results of my web surfing moments for the day.

First, here’s a link to one of those sites that I’m ashamed to admit I visited: “The 25 funniest autocorrects“. You don’t have to laugh, but I cried – and it’s for mature (make that older) audiences, only.

My daughter in law turned me on to Cake Wrecks. Some of us like to bake; some just to laugh.

As a proper ugly American, I remember my time in the orient and how I longed to collect menus. This site reminds me of that time best forgotten.

Not laugh-out-loud funny, but touching (and local!): Found Magazine.

Eavesdropping is a shared pleasure, and more productive when there are more people around. Here’s some things Overheard in New York.

And then, there’s this place. I wish our graffiti artists were as thoughtful.

Going off now to do something with lamb.

This entry was posted in General comments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

